, pub-2480664471547226, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The Best Gifts from Schoharie County

Home » , » Seward Congratulates New York's Top Seniors

Seward Congratulates New York's Top Seniors

Written By Cicero on 5/12/15 | 5/12/15

ALBANY, 05/11/15 -- State Senator James L. Seward (R/C/I – Oneonta) recently congratulated New York State’s top senior citizens as part of the New York State Office for the Aging 2015 Senior Citizens Day Celebration in Albany.

From left, Senator James L. Seward with
Schoharie County citizen honoree Ruth Bradt.  
“Our senior citizens are vital community members who offer a great perspective on so many topics,” said Senator Seward.   “The extremely active seniors honored today fulfill significant roles – serving on local municipal boards, teaching our young people about community engagement, and contributing positively to our future.” 

Along with honoring the local honorees the senate also adopted a resolution (J.1809) proclaiming May 5, 2015 as Senior Citizens Awareness Day in the State of New York.  The resolution reads in part:

WHEREAS, The more than three million residents of New York State  60 years of age and older bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the increasingly  active  roles  they  play  in  today's society; their past contributions and future participation are a vital part of, and valuable asset to, the fabric of community life and activity; and

WHEREAS, These senior citizens have contributed to the State by building and helping preserve the customs, traditions and ideals of the many ethnic groups that make up the mosaic of New York State.

“I also have to give credit to the local county office for the aging staff members that work so hard on a daily basis providing crucial services to area senior citizens and advocating for their needs,” Seward added.

Both Sheila Serbay (Otsego County, Oneonta) and Ruth Bradt (Schoharie County, Howes Cavern) attended the recognition event in Albany.  The complete list of honorees from Senator Seward’s district includes:

Cortland County                     Michael McGuire, Cortland;
Delaware County                    Tom Hynes, Roxbury;
Otsego County                        Norma Ralph, Worcester;
Otsego County                        Sheila Serbay, Oneonta;
Schoharie County                   Ruth Bradt, Howes Cavern;
Tompkins County                   Ted Sobel, Brooktondale;

“These honorees exemplify the great commitment, experience, and care that so many other senior citizens bring to their communities.  We would be lost without their expertise and I am truly impressed with their great accomplishments,” Seward concluded.
Share this article :
Like the Post? Do share with your Friends.


Post a Comment